Book Review – Monstacademy, The Halloween Parade by Matt Beighton

The Halloween Parade
by Matt Beighton

 

The Halloween Parade

Summary: It’s not every day that a vampire borrows your pencil. When was the last time yousat next to a werewolf in maths?
Meet Trixie Grimble, the newest pupil at Monstacademy. Unfortunately, in a school filled
with monsters, she’s the only ordinary girl and when she’s asked to help prepare for the
annual Halloween parade, everything starts to go wrong.
Oh, and she’s also been kicked out of her bedroom to make room for a cat circus.
Fans of Jill Murphy and Isla Fisher will adore the silly humour and loveable characters in this delightful modern classic.

 

REVIEW

So my eldest is a real book worm, she spends hours a day reading away, enjoying a variety of different books from fairies to Minecraft, science to learning about rocks and stones, she often her nose in a book. That said, at the ripe old age of 8 years she has also become a literary connoisseur, or at least she knows what she likes and defiantly isn’t afraid to tell you when she doesn’t!! So off Monstacademy went to see if it would pass the brutal scrutiny of my chief child literature tester. 

She read it through in one evening and there was complete joy and laughter that could be heard through the ceiling to my office below. She loved the story; the pictures were enough to keep her interest but not too frequent for her age and she absolutely adored the extra’s at the back of the book. Let’s just say it was a big hit!

From my perspective the story was great, chapters the right length for the age target, illustrations lovely and I find the added short story and activities at the back of the book, an amazing touch. It’s small touches and thoughts like that which make an author stand out in the vast minefield of children’s literature. 

We will certainly be on the lookout for more of Matt’s books in the future x

 

**Disclaimer: Whilst I received no payment for this review, I did receive a copy of Monstacademy for the purpose of reviewing. All views are my own (and the eldest’s!).

Don’t forget, all of the Monstacademy series are available in both standard and dyslexia adapted format. To celebrate Dyslexia Awareness Week 2018, use the code DYSAWARE to get 15% of any Monstacademy orders at the Green Monkey Press Etsy store. Offer valid from Monday 1st October to Sunday 7th October 2018 at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/GreenMonkeyPress 

 

 

Information about the book
Title: The Halloween Parade (Monstacademy #1)

Author: Matt Beighton
Release Date: 12 th September 2018.

Genre: MG

Publisher: Green Monkey Press

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36988699-the-halloween-parade
Amazon Link:  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Halloween-Parade-Monstacademy-Matt-Beighton/

 

Author Information

Matt Beighton was born somewhere in the midlands in England        Matt Beighton
during the heady days of the 1980s and continues to spend most of his days in the same shire. He is happily married with two young daughters who keep him very busy and suffer through the endless early drafts of his stories.
When he’s not writing, he teaches primary school (Kindergarten to some of you), messes around on canals in his inflatable kayak and supports his beloved Leicester City.

Website: http://mattbeighton.co.uk/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattbeightonauthor
Twttier: http://www.twitter.com/mattbeighton

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs9DBOkwtDpnTFBYZXUhUUw

 

 

The Halloween Parade Banner3.png

 

New Term Chaos

It’s the start of a new school year and that means of course that chaos has reigned this week!

Not helped by the fact that the week began with my cousin’s funeral over 200miles away, so a long day trip and emotional reunions with family ensued.

It’s hard that the only time you see a lot of family is at these sad times, we all live so far apart and have our own busy lives. Yes social media allows us to stay in “contact”, but it’s not the same is it? It was really nice to see people even if the circumstance wasn’t the best, and plans have been made for next year for a little adventure with one of my closest cousins, so that is something to look forward to at least!

Back from that emotional day and the next saw the kids back at school for a new year! They grow up all too quickly and time just seems to be flying by at the moment. However there was no time to stop and pause as I had my 3 hour UKCAT exam at 9am!

Despite the circumstances I did manage a score above average which I should be happy with, but I messed up the last section so I really don’t know how things will be effected now, only time will tell I guess :/

The rest of the week was filled with working at uni, housework and working as a healthcare assistant at the weekend (gaining experience for my applications!). So very much tired all around. I am fighting the pain and fatigue at the moment and I really don’t know if I can keep this up much longer but hopefully the pace will be more chilled this week.

It’s hard to get everything done that needs to be whilst trying to maintain this constant balancing act between my life and my health. Well more of a battle between what I want to do and what my body will allow me to do!

Just keep swimming.